IAMS® PROACTIVE HEALTH™ Indoor Weight & Hairball Care

Product Description

IAMS™ Indoor Weight & Hairball Care helps indoor cats control their weight and reduce hairballs.

  • Real chicken is the 1st ingredient
  • Helps maintain a healthy weight & helps reduce hairballs
  • 100% complete & balanced adult nutrition, 0% fillers
  • Veterinarian recommended

Key benefits in the recipes:

  • IAMS™ PROACTIVE HEALTH™Indoor Weight & Hairball Care Strong Muscles Healthy weight: L-Carnitine to help burn fat and maintain a healthy metabolism.
  • IAMS™ PROACTIVE HEALTH™Indoor Weight & Hairball Care Healthy Heart Hairball care: Proprietary fiber blend, including beet pulp, helps reduce hairballs.
  • IAMS™ PROACTIVE HEALTH™Indoor Weight & Hairball Care Healthy Digestion Healthy skin & coat: Optimal Omega 6:3 ratio for a soft & shiny coat.
  • IAMS™ PROACTIVE HEALTH™Indoor Weight & Hairball Care Healthy teeth Healthy heart: Essential nutrients, including calcium & potassium, help nourish a healthy heart.
  • IAMS™ PROACTIVE HEALTH™Indoor Weight & Hairball Care Healthy Skin and Coat Strong muscles: Real chicken as the 1st ingredient helps maintain strong muscles.
 
IAMS_PROACTIVE HEALTH_Indoor Weight & Hairball Care_KcalKg_148x164
IAMS_PROACTIVE HEALTH_Indoor Weight & Hairball Care_KcalCup_148x164
Chicken, Chicken By-Product Meal, Corn Grits, Corn Gluten Meal, Ground Whole Grain Sorghum, Ground Whole Grain Corn, Dried Beet Pulp, Turkey, Powdered Cellulose, Dried Peas, Natural Flavor, Salt, Brewers Dried Yeast, Dried Egg Product, Caramel Color, Sodium Bisulfate, Potassium Chloride, Choline Chloride, Fish Oil (preserved with mixed Tocopherols), Carrots, Dried Apple Pomace, Calcium Carbonate Fructooligosaccharides, Spinach, Tomato, Vitamins (Vitamin E Supplement, Niacin, Ascorbic Acid, Vitamin A Acetate, Calcium Pantothenate, Biotin, Thiamine Mononitrate (source of Vitamin B1), Pyridoxine Hydrochloride (source of Vitamin B6), Vitamin B12 Supplement, Riboflavin Supplement (source of Vitamin B2), Inositol, Vitamin D3 Supplement, Folic Acid), Minerals (Zinc Oxide, Manganese Sulfate, Copper Sulfate, Potassium Iodide), Taurine, L-Carnitine, Silicon Dioxide, Citric Acid, Mixed Tocopherols, Rosemary Extract
Weight of Cat (lbs.) Feed Daily  
4 lbs. 1/3 cup 1/3 cup
8 lbs. 2/3 cup 1/2 cup 
12 lbs. 3/4 cup 2/3 cup
16 lbs. 1 cup 3/4 cup 
22 lbs. 1 1/4 cup 1 cup

c = cups; 1 cup = 95 grams

These guideline amounts are a starting point and your cat may need more food depending upon age, activity and temperament. In order to reach optimal body condition, you may need to adjust food intake. This represents the total recommended volume of food per day. You should divide the total recommended feeding amount by the number of times you feed your cat per day to get the actual portion size per feeding.
• If you have a kitten, pregnant or nursing cat, we recommend feeding IAMS kitten food.
• Remember to have clean, fresh water available for your cat at all times.
• Because IAMS INDOOR WEIGHT & HAIRBALL CARE cat food is complete and balanced for Maintenance, you do not need to add vitamin or mineral supplements.
• When introducing IAMS cat food, gradually mix it with your cat's current food over the course of 4 days.

 
Crude Protein (MIN) 30.0%
Crude Fat (MIN) 11.0%​
Crude Fat (MAX) 13.5%
Crude Fiber (MAX) 8.3%
Moisture (MAX)
10.0%​
Calcium (MIN) 
0.75%
Phosphorus (MIN) 0.65%
Potassium (MIN)
0.65%
Taurine (MIN)
0.13%
L-Carnitine(MIN) 80 mg/kg*
Omega-6 Fatty Acids (MIN) 2.0%*
Omega-3 Fatty Acids (MIN) 0.2%*
*Not recognized as an essential nutrient by the AAFCO Cat Food Nutrient Profiles.
PROACTIVE HEALTH™ Indoor Weight & Hairball Care is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 262.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bad Change! I have fed my cat the indoor Iams for 5 years. I did not realize that Iams changed the ingredients but my cat did immediately. Thought something was off when he would not eat it. I bought the biggest bag of Iams, because my cat had always loved this food. Definitely looking for food that my cat will eat!
Date published: 2018-08-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Ingredients changes I have been giving my cats the Iams indoor Weight & Hairball Cate food for years and have had no issues. Just recently Iams changed the ingredients and now they are both eating more and one is throwing up frequently. Does Iams have a food that is similar to the old formula?
Date published: 2018-07-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bad Change I have been buying the old product just chicken flavor for years. Did not realize they changed product. My cat is allergic to turkey that is why I need the old formula. Do not like the change. Now I have to find another product.
Date published: 2018-07-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not enough info I have not used the product. I use a vet recommended feeding system for my cat (excerciser food ball) and would love to use it with Iams food. The problem is that it only works with kibble of a certain shape and up to a certain size. I can't find any info on the bag or on the website to determine if this will work in my feeder. Would a pic on the bag really be so difficult? Other Iams foods I have used with my dogs have been great which is what I am basing my quality rankings on; my cat is missing out.
Date published: 2018-07-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not Cool Iams! Like many here, our cats have been eating Iams food exclusively for many years, then you changed the formula (without notice, Not Cool!) now our kitties wont touch it, and like others we will be looking to a new brand, your loss Iams.
Date published: 2018-07-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from "New and Improved" ? Definitely Not! Pet owners know it is not a good idea to suddenly change their pet's food. Any new food should be gradually introduced. So it seems irresponsible of Iams to change the recipe/formula of their cat food without noting this prominently on the bag. Plus, like many reviews I am reading, my cats don't like it at all. We've been using Iams for many years but now I guess we will have to find another brand my cats will eat.
Date published: 2018-07-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Change of Company? New formula not workingHas Iams parent company changed?
Date published: 2018-07-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Change of food They changed the ingredients and didn't let consumers know. No where on the bag does it said now with turkey and veggies. Cat hated it. Very disappointed in IAMS. Get it together.
Date published: 2018-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from New Formula We have been buying Iams proactive for Indoor weight and hairball control for over 5 years. I did not even realize that Iams had changed the formula until I noticed the two different color of kibble. My fat cats did not notice a difference either. They still scarf it down and beg to be fed twice a day. Thank you for a great product that keeps my kitties happy and healthy!
Date published: 2018-07-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Cat hates new formulation We've been feeding our pets exclusively IAMS foods for decades. Our cat had been happily eating the chicken flavor of this food for years. IAMS recently reformulated it with turkey and veggies and our cat just meows, looks at his bowl and looks back at us. He will not eat this. Well, that's one way to control his weight, make the food unpalatable. We will be looking for a different cat food. So sad.
Date published: 2018-06-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Cats do not like new formula As most know, cats a very finicky. My cats loved the chicken formula and we’re doing very well on it, but honestly they do not like the new chicken, turkey and greens.
Date published: 2018-06-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from My cats hate the new formula!! I bought a 16 # bag of this, not realizing they changed the formula from just chicken and added the turkey and garden greens. It even looks disgusting -and my two cats will not eat this product!! And now I am stuck with 15 1/2 #'s of useless cat food. I am trying different Iam's food- but am very disappointed Iams changed a product I trusted and my cats loved to this awful stuff.
Date published: 2018-06-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from New formula made my cats vomit. My 2 cats were doing great on the old formula and since I added the hairball treats, they were only occasionally
Date published: 2018-06-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Why the veggie? My 17 year old cat has been eating this product for years. Now she will not eat it and my younger cat will not eat this any more!! I took it back to store and I see you added veggie. I talk to vet and cats do NOT need veggie. The vet helped me find new food close to old product so I switched to Hills.
Date published: 2018-06-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Our cats don't like the new flavor We have a new bag of Indoor Weight and Harirball and our cats weren't eating very much, so we checked the bag and it says it's made from chicken, turkey and VEGGIES. Since when do cats like veggies? Is this how you persuade them to not eat so much?
Date published: 2018-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from When did turkey get in here? I just bought a bag of this, and I swear last time I bought it, it was only the chicken recipe. Am I missing something? When did turkey and veggies arrive? I thought it was the same color bag, lol. Was there ever a chicken only flavor hairball adult cat food? I have no reason to give this a bad rating, so I will not. Just always gave chicken only because it’s supposes to be easiest on their tummies. Hopefully turkey is not different.
Date published: 2018-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My 4 cats love it! My 4 cats 3 of which are brothers all 8 months old, and one brother that currently turned 4. The 4 year old cat had weight problems, with his love for temptations treats.. I stopped feeding him them and switched all cats on the indoor IAMS proactive health food. I must say, my old cat went back to his normal healthy weight, and his coat shines like never before. Moreover, all cats love the food, i sometimes mix it with wet food. I highly recommend this for indoor cat owner's who want their cat to maintain a healthy weight/prevent hair balls.
Date published: 2018-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My cats crave IAMS; urinary tract formula needed My 3 cats all love IAMS dry food, which I have been feeding for the two females for about a year now, but the male needs a urinary tract formula, which IAMS does not offer. A competitor does, but my tomcat is not fond of it and instead prefers to eat from the adjacent IAMS bowl. Hence I would be an eager buyer if IAMS would add a urinary tract health formula to its product line that is as appealing to cats who need it as the existing Hairball Care and Indoor dry formulas seem to be.
Date published: 2018-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No Hairballs I just opened my 2nd bag(3.5lbs), my baby loves it and best of all not one hairball!!
Date published: 2017-11-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Cat enjoys possibly too much. I've used this product for my cat for 5 years. He's always done very well with it as far as his coat and general health. But the battle of the bulge has been a constant battle. In order for him to stay at his healthy weight of 15 lbs. I can only give him 2/3 of a cup/day. He ritualizes feeding times morning and night and practically drives me crazy trying to get me to feed him. I just can't fathom how his metabolism can be this low. I don't give him scraps and we have no other pets for him to filch from. I'm going to try a wet food and try and figure out if he's actually starving (which by watching his weight, he can't be) or if he's just addicted to the dry cat food.
Date published: 2017-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from discontinued? I can not seem to find this product at my local Safeway anymore. On the website here it shows "no sellers found". Has this product been discontinued? It has been my cats steady diet for 6 or 7 years now. i'd hate to change now.
Date published: 2017-08-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Something seems different.... My cats have been eating this food religiously for at least six years, but for the last few months they just don't seem to be as enthusiastic about it. They're still eating it, albeit reluctantly, so I bought a few more bags to see if it was a fluke, but they haven't cared for it at all. This week, they will barely touch it. What's changed? Pellet size, yes, but that was at the beginning of the year. Maybe I got a bad batch? But I have five cats and every one of them is barely eating. Will try a different flavor and see if that makes a difference.
Date published: 2017-08-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from no decreasing hairballs My cat is an indoor cat & I have fed this to her for a few months. While she really likes it, she still has problems with hairballs on a consistent basis. This last time was really bad. I am going to switch to the mature hairball control to see how she does with it. If she continues having a hard time, I will change brands
Date published: 2017-07-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from pellet size change I have always used Iams for my cat and previous cat. You have changed the size of the pellets. My cat now takes a piece out of the bowl and eats it off the floor. Ants now! I have to put her dish in a bowl of water to keep the ants out. Then she sometimes drops a piece in the water and what a mess! Why did you change the size when you had a good thing going. Change is not always good!
Date published: 2017-07-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from My cats love the food My cats love your food, but when I went to the store recently, I saw different bags. Is this the samw inside formula as before, but with new packaging?
Date published: 2017-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from =nice smell, no more vomits my senior cat was vomiting a lot and I have had her on wet food for months now. I bought this for the other cats and she loved it! she can eat it and does not vomit it up.
Date published: 2017-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect food for our main coon This is our second main coon... our first had to be put to rest in 2011...After Spike our first one we had to have another ...had him for 16 years...Adopted Snickers...she is now an adorable 15 pound lady...Hair is so long that after talking to our vet and Iams rep, we decided on Iams proactive and hairball food... very satisfying (that's probably why she is at 15 pounds....Keep the great products coming
Date published: 2017-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easily noticed. I've been using Iams since I got my fur baby. Kitten food then onto indoor weight. Love it. She has bright eyes. Bunny like fur. Lots of energy. She's a happy cat.
Date published: 2017-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from cats love it i got to try this free our cats really love it i will continue to buy this here for my cats
Date published: 2017-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My cats love it but.... My 2 cats love Iams dry food when i first introduce it to them. But i was told by the staff that it contains pork fats. i have to stop giving it. Is all your cats dry food contain pork fats?
Date published: 2017-04-16
  • y_2019, m_2, d_22, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.11
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_260
  • loc_en_US, sid_116, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_iams-mars