IAMS® ProActive Health™ Senior Plus

IAMS Senior Plus helps fight signs of aging with essential nutrients and nourishing antioxidants to revitalize immunity to adult levels, so your senior dog can play young and stay young.
  • Strong Immune System Strong Immune System Enriched with antioxidants to help develop a strong immune system.
  • Healthy Bones and Joints Healthy Bones and Joints Formulated to nourish healthy bones and joints.
  • Healthy Metabolism Healthy Metabolism Formulated with L-carnitine to help burn fat and maintain healthy metabolism.
  • Healthy Teeth Healthy Teeth Crunchy kibbles scrub your dog’s teeth with every bite to help reduce plaque buildup that can lead to bad breath. IAMS Daily Dental Care™ with HMP reduces tartar buildup by up to 55%.
 
3588 kcal/kg
369 kcal/cup
Chicken, Ground Whole Grain Corn, Ground Whole Grain Sorghum, Chicken By-Product Meal (Source of Chondroitin Sulfate and Glucosamine), Ground Whole Grain Barley, Fish Meal (source of fish oil), Dried Beet Pulp, Chicken Fat (preserved with mixed Tocopherols), Dried Egg Product, Natural Flavor, Dried Brewers Yeast, Potassium Chloride, Caramel Color, Salt, Sodium Hexametaphosphate, Calcium Carbonate, Fructooligosaccharides,  Choline Chloride, Carrots, Tomatoes, L-Lysine Monohydrochloride, Fish Oil (preserved with mixed Tocopherols), Spinach, Vitamin E Supplement, DL-Methionine, Green Peas, Minerals (Ferrous Sulfate, Zinc Oxide, Sodium Selenite, Manganese Sulfate, Copper Sulfate, Manganous Oxide, Potassium Iodide), Beta-Carotene, Dried Apple Pomace, Vitamins (Ascorbic Acid, Calcium Pantothenate, Vitamin A Supplemet, Biotin, Thiamine Mononitrate (source of Vitamin B1), Vitamin B12 supplement, Niacin, Riboflavin Supplement (source of Vitamin B2), Inositol, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride (source of Vitamin B6), Vitamin D3 Supplement, Folic Acid), L-Carnitine, Dried Blueberry Pomace, Mixed Tocopherols, Rosemary Extract, Citric Acid.
Weight of Dog (lbs.) Maintenance—Feed Daily
3 lbs. 1/4 – 1/3 c
10 lbs. 3/4 – 1 c
20 lbs. 1 1/4 – 1 1/2 c
30 lbs. 1 3/4 – 2 c
40 lbs. 2 1/4 – 2 1/2 c
50 lbs. 2 1/2 – 3 c
60 lbs. 3 – 3 1/3 c
70 lbs. 3 1/4 – 3 3/4 c
80 lbs. 3 2/3 – 4 1/4 c
90 lbs. 4 – 4 1/2 c
100 lbs. 4 1/4 – 5 c

These guideline amounts are a starting point and your dog may need more food depending upon age, activity, and temperament. In order to reach optimal body condition, you may need to adjust food intake. This represents the total recommended volume of food per day. You should divide the total recommended feeding amount by the number of times you feed your dog per day to get the actual portion size per feeding.

Remember to have clean, fresh water available for your dog at all times.

Because IAMS ProActive Health Senior Plus dog food is complete and balanced for adult dogs, you do not need to add vitamin or mineral supplements.

When introducing IAMS dog food, gradually mix it with your dog's current food over the course of 4 days.

SAFE HANDLING TIPS FOR ANY PET FOODS AND TREATS: Please wash your hands before and after handling any pet food or treat. Wash pet food bowls with soap and hot water after each use.

Replace 1/2 cup (51 g) for each 1/2 can of Iams Senior with Slow Cooked Chicken and Rice (375 g can).

Protein, minimum 26.00%
Crude Fat, minimum 14.00%
Crude Fiber, maximum 6.00%
Moisture, maximum 10.00%
Docosahexanoic Acid, maximum 0.05%
Calcium, minimum 1.00%
Phosphorus, minimum 0.80%
Vitamin E, not less than 150 IU/kg
Beta-Carotene, minimum 12 mg/kg
L-Carnitine, minimum 60 mg/kg*
Omega-6 Fatty Acids, minimum 1.93%*
Omega-3 Fatty Acids, minimum 0.27%*
Glucosamine, minimum 350 mg/kg
Chondroitin Sulfate, minimum 35 mg/kg

*Not recognized as an essential nutrient by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles

ProActive Health™ Senior Plus is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 216.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from REVITALIZED MY 14 YEAR OLD LAB MIX Doubled her energy level, improved her walking and running significantly in two weeks. Dog wakes me up almost every day at 3AM to eat more food. Amazing improvement with just a food change. Suggest you try just one bag to see if it helps your older dog.
Date published: 2016-02-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My dog like it I bought this after receiving a coupon from Pinchme. I like that it helps clean my dog's teeth, and has nutrients to help keep him healthy and feeling younger
Date published: 2016-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog loves this My dog is getting up in age and thanks to Iams I have a happy dog, He loves his new food and I feel good feeding him this dog food, because I know he gets all the nutrition he needs plus the food contain glucosamine to support healthy joints.
Date published: 2016-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best for my older dog Got this free sample, and have seen marked improvement in my older dogs general health.
Date published: 2016-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from IAMS Senior Plus Bought product last month, our dog really liked the taste.
Date published: 2016-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dog approved I bought this product with a coupon off and my dogs loved it!! They gobbled it down.
Date published: 2016-02-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good product This seems to be a good quality product, unfortunately the dogs I offered this to are both 11 years old very set in their ways and didn't want to eat this.
Date published: 2016-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Iams !!! Iams has been my go to brand for a while. I recently switched to senior plus and my old lady dog loves it. I get nervous switching her food because sometimes it doesn't react well with her. All was good this time around.
Date published: 2016-01-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good price Seemed like a fair product. The price was great. Great for senior dogs with no health iues.
Date published: 2016-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy Dog! I have a Shih Tzu that is 10 years old. He has been eating this and seems to like it. I don't see much improvement in his health that can be attributed to this food in such a short time but I am happy that he is getting the nutrition that he needs.
Date published: 2016-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Our dog loves it Great product. Happy to find a senior dog food that our dog will eat.
Date published: 2016-01-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great My dogs acted n looked better after only a short time eating this.
Date published: 2016-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Iams Senior plus I received a free sample, and my 3 dogs loved it. They looked for more in the mail in the following week!
Date published: 2016-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy Crew I have 7 chiuahuah's from 10 lbs to 3 lbs and some are getting old, and their teeth are not so good. I have always feed them Iams, but my little old ones have a hard time crunching down and I'm afraid they will choke trying to swallow it whole. So I tried the senior plus and they all love it, even my oldest dog she is 13 and has bad teeth. The bites seem to be easy for them to crunch and the peices are small enough that I don't worry about them choking if they swallow it whole. I have not found a better food for my tooth challenged chi's, so thanks to Iams for their dedication to pets and their needs. If your going to spend your money on dog food don't waste it on cornmeal cardboard, get your money's worth.
Date published: 2015-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Prince loves it! I bought this food to help him with his arthritis. He was eating Iams Healthy Naturals, but he picks that out and eats only the Proactive health now! He's not feeling his age (14) these days.
Date published: 2015-08-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Dog not too happy I have large dog, used to eating IAMS Lsrge Dog Weight Control. She reached 11 years and I decided it was time to change to 11 years plus. When I opened the bag this AM I was shocked to see the size of kibbles, like toy breed dog. She ate it reluctantly. You could tell she was having trouble in her big mouth with the little pieces of food. The dog pictured was not a toy and I did not expect such little piece. It took her about twice as long to eat it as usual, every bite was a problem. It looked like it got lost in her mouth and was too small to chew.
Date published: 2014-09-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good food, great size bites I am just getting to write my review because I lost internet for a few weeks, but updating now since I just got it back! My doggie loved this food, it was the best size bites for him and easy for him to chew. His potty was not much in difference which is good since most times you switch they may have problems. I even notices a differance in his coat from when I started feeding him. I will be buying more and trying the wet also
Date published: 2014-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from If she loves it, I love it I received iams proactive health senior plus dog food for free from iams. I have a 12 year old pitbull and she is very picky. I switched to this food midway thru a bag of food I knew she liked, just in case she wouldn't eat it. I guess she liked the way it smelled or could tell it was new because no bribing her to eat was necessary. Over the years I've had to change her food many times because she is so picky, but I think this one may be a winner for us. Not only does she like it, but I know it has the exact ingredients she needs. The size of the kibble was also perfect for her. If she's happy with her food, I'm happy to buy it for her after the bag we have is finished.
Date published: 2014-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Our Senior Dogs Love This We have 2 Shih Tzus that are 12 years old. They have been eating this and seem to like it. I don't see much improvement in their health that can be attributed to this food in such a short time but I am happy they are getting nutrition that they need at their age.
Date published: 2014-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pug size pieces! Iams senior plus dog food is great. My favorite thing about it was the bite size pieces . My pug likes to try and swallow her food hole. She really seemed to enjoy this food . I would definitely recommend this product. Oh and did I mention it was great for her coat . Everybody kept saying how soft her fur was and she didn't seem to shed as much. Thank you Iams you've made a great product.
Date published: 2014-09-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Food Choice for my Little "Senior" My little pooch was thrilled to try Iams ProActive Health Senior Plus dog food. So when the brand offered to let me try the product for free, I was definitely on board. Although I did not have to purchase the product, all my opinions are my own (as well as my dog's reactions). At first, the little guy was thrilled to devour the food. He really seemed to like the taste and promptly emptied his bowl. Although it is dry dog food, it doesn't seem to be too hard, which is important since my dog is almost 12 years old and doesn't have the strength in his teeth that he used to. Overall, he was pleased to eat the food everyday but I did notice, over time, he became a little less enthusiastic about the flavor. This happens with most foods, though. He tends to get a little tired of the flavor after having the same kind of food for a while. However, I am pleased by the fact that the first ingredient is chicken, and not a corn or wheat filler. I felt good feeding him this food because I felt like it was of better quality than other brands. Although I will probably still switch out foods every now and then to give him a little variety in his diet, I plan to add Iams ProActive Health Senior Plus dog food to his regular diet by purchasing this product in the future.
Date published: 2014-09-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from My dog wouldn't eat it. I waited til now to write this review because I have been trying to get my dog to eat this but she refused. I first gave her a scoop of just this food and she would sniff at her bowl but refused to eat any of the food. I then tried to mix it with her normal brand and she would pick out her usual brand and leave the iams sitting in her bowl. I tried yesterday to feed it to her mixed with wet food (which she only gets as a treat) and she licked up the wet food but spit out any nuggets of food that were mixed in. I don't quite know why (obviously she cant speak to me) but my dog did not like this brand of food. I have heard many good things about the iams brand but apparently my little diva was not having any of it. I will be passing on the rest of the food that I have left to a friend. Maybe her dog will enjoy it :)
Date published: 2014-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect timing! I have a 14 year old cattle/corgi mix, and she is just the best dog! we rescued her about 4 years ago. she has a very sensitive stomach so I slowly introduced her to the food by mixing it with her regual dry food, now this is all she eats. The little pieces are just perfect for aging dogs! she seems to have a little more pep in her step which we love to see! thanks for sending this great product!
Date published: 2014-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gizmo loved Iams Gizmo loved his new Iams Senior Plus dog food. He pushed his old dog food aside to eat the Iams dog food. Gizmo became more active like a puppy. I would recommend the Iams Senior Plus dog food for your senior dog.
Date published: 2014-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy to chew My dog usually struggles chewing her food but she devoured this stuff! And its packed full of nutrients!!
Date published: 2014-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Natural Goodness My senior dog absolutely loved the Iams for seniors formula. I was very impressed with the nutritional value, the protein added in it as well as the fact that it promotes healthy joints as well as maintains a great metabolism for my dog. The small kernel size and flavor was a big hit with her. This is one of the best dog foods I have tried in a while and feel really good about its ingredients. I have switched her over t this food. t is a bit pricey compared to the food I was purchasing but I think for the great product I'm getting the extra money is well worth it. Only draw back is I have to go to Petco to get it. I highly recommend any senior dog owners to give this a try, your dog will thank you!
Date published: 2014-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Irresistible to dogs! My dog is usually really picky about what he eats. It has gotten worse the older he gets but to my amazement, he loved the IAMS Senior Plus food! This is great since I am always on the lookout for a dog food that will give him all of the essentials that he needs now that he is an older dog. I don't have to worry that he isn't getting what he needs to stay healthy and happy. It makes my life a lot easier as a pet owner, and seeing how much he loves to eat IAMS makes me rest easy that he is taken care of.
Date published: 2014-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Iams senior plus I received Iams senior plus dog food and my dogs love it. My older dogs eyes seem to get better. They weren't so watery. It seemed to give her more energy. I wont go back to other dog food.
Date published: 2014-09-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My dogs tore this good up! Dog food has changed so much over time to becoming healthier, no longer filled with dye and has actually become something I feel comfortable sharing with my furry best friends. I like that Iams puts quality ingredients into their food to promote healthy joints in my senior pup, nice coat and healthy teeth. I switched my dogs over slowly to this new food but they devoured it like candy! Clearly they were looking for something new and perhaps with a better flavor, I feel Iams provided just that to my dogs. I believe the added probiotics helps their digestive systems some...I will spare you the details. Overall I really think Iams did a great job with this senior blend and I have been buying it for my happy 10 year old Minnie for the last month after our sample. The younger dogs enjoy it as well but she's not about that sharing life.
Date published: 2014-09-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My boy is young at heart!! My Dachshund is 13 years young, but I still need to feed him according to his age to make sure he is healthy!!When I first gave him his bowl with he new food in it he was unsure but he tried it. He finished his bowel and looked at me for more !! I think that speaks volumes!! I like that this food is designed esp for senior dogs.I am pleased that this is helping my dog stay healthy and that he likes it. :)
Date published: 2014-09-18
  • y_2019, m_2, d_21, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.11
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_214
  • loc_en_US, sid_200012, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_iams-mars